The Lego Batman Movie

February 26, 2017 at 3:02 pm | Posted in 2017 | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

◊ ◊

After the heavier, more pensive films I was seeing toward the end of last year’s list, I thought I might start my 2017 films with something a bit lighter. Well, you can’t get much lighter than this. After the success of 2014’s “The Lego Movie,” clearly Lego and D.C. are planning on doubling down on the concept. This is just the second in what is planned to be a series of Lego movies; in fact, there is another one coming out in just a few months. Well, I suspect this one will be enough for me. I don’t know what I expected. Something light, silly and funny, I guess. And, I guess, it was those things. Still, I was left only partly satisfied. I’m not sure I can even put my finger on why. It was humorous but never elicited much more than a chuckle in me, despite the fact that it was chock full of every type of humor– slapstick, innuendo, parody, sarcasm, irony, social commentary, cultural references (like crazy) and on and on. Somehow, few of them managed to land with me. The novelty of the Lego-style visuals had worn off halfway through the last movie and there was little that was original here. That said, the music was much less annoying this time around, so that’s something. As with the last one, there was a ton of actors lending their voices, everyone from Ralph Fiennes to Mariah Carey, some of whom seemed happy to have just a single line (like Jonah Hill). In the end, the film was fine. I just wish I had as much fun as the actors all seemed to.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

