2016 – The Year In Review

February 19, 2017 at 4:43 pm | Posted in 2016 | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

In keep with my annual tradition, here is my synopsis of the year in film and what I thought were the best and worst films of 2016. I have seen 73 of the films released in theaters in 2016. That is well up from the 60 I saw last year. In fact, I have to go all the way back to 2011 to find a year when I saw as many films. But, then, this felt like a good year to me (unlike last year). Although, I have to admit that I also saw some stinkers this year and that is something I have managed to avoid over the past couple of years. Last year, I saw only 2 films that I rated as 2 lozenges or below. This year, I saw 10. So, perhaps I need to become more selective again.

Here is my list of my favorites, ranked (roughly) in order from most favorite down. As in the past, I have included all films I ranked as 4 lozenges or higher. This year, I chose to also included my zeros at the bottom, more as a cautionary tale than anything else. Enjoy.

◊◊◊◊◊

Moonlight

Swiss Army Man

Fences

I Am Not Your Negro

◊◊◊◊½

Manchester by the Sea

Loving

20th Century Women

American Honey

The Birth of a Nation

Golden Kingdom

Kubo and the Two Strings

Don’t Think Twice

◊◊◊◊

Fireworks Wednesday

10 Cloverfield Lane

Hell or High Water

The Nice Guys

The Edge of Seventeen

Hunt for the Wilderpeople

Microbe and Gasoline

La La Land

Embrace of the Serpent

Silence

And now for something completely different… the films that sucked (with the very worst one on the bottom):

Ø

X-Men: Apocalypse

Sausage Party

Elle

As with last year, you can check out any of my above reviews by clicking on the film title.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

