2015 – The Year In Review

January 31, 2016 at 7:01 pm | Posted in 2015 | Leave a comment

As has become my annual tradition, here is a quick synopsis of my year in review and the ranking of my favorite films for the year. I saw exactly 60 2015 films over the past year.  Last year it was 57, so I am fairly close to what seems to be my new norm (down considerably from previous years).  However, I may be guilty of grade inflation. I have more than twice as many 5 lozenge films this year as opposed to last year and, as I look back at them and compare them to previous years, I think some of them were over-inflated. But, I have a personal policy about going back and changing a rating once I have given it. So, they will stay as they are. None of this year’s films were as good as last year’s top two (“Boyhood” and “Whiplash”). But then, there were fewer bad films as well.  I had 9 films in 2014 that I ranked below 2 lozenges but only 2 films this past year. I believe that is simply evidence that I am getting better at picking what I will like or not. So, here are my favorite films of 2015, roughly ranked from my favorite film down.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

The Big Short

Anomalisa

Inside Out

Chi-Raq

The Revenant

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ½

Room

The Wolfpack

Beasts of No Nation

The Look of Silence

Sicario

45 Years

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Ex Machina

It Follows

Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem

Goodnight Mommy

The Walk

’71

Carol

Spotlight

The Martian

The Apu Trilogy

Wild Tales

About Elly

The End of the Tour

Phoenix

As with last year, you can check out any of my above reviews by clicking on the film title.  Please read the reviews and see if you agree with me.  And, if you don’t, it’s really okay; I don’t mind associating with people who are wrong 😉

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

