2014 – The Year in Review

February 22, 2015 at 6:30 pm | Posted in 2014 | Leave a comment

I saw fewer films this year than over the past several years.  Just 57 2014 films, as opposed to 71 each of the past two years.  I not really sure why that is.  IN both of the last two years, I have about 1/3 of the films I saw in the bottom half of my rating system.  However, I did notice that in, 2013, I had almost twice as many films in my lowest rankings (1 and below) as I did this year, so perhaps I am becoming more selective or, perhaps, there were just slightly fewer films that excited me this year.  I guess time will tell us if this is a new trend or not.

As with last year, I have ranked films under the number of lozenges I gave them, focusing on just those films I truly loved.  They are in roughly descending order.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Boyhood

Whiplash

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ½

Birdman

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Locke

Nightcrawler

Selma

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Love is Strange

Top Five

The Drop

Only Lovers Left Alive

The Babadook

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Wild

Gone Girl

Calvary

The Theory of Everything

Still Alice

Chef

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Life Itself

You can check out any of my above reviews by clicking on the film title.  As I look at this list, I am particularly struck by how truly truly fantastic 8 films are. Please read my reviews and seriously think about seeing these films.

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

