Pride

October 5, 2014 at 5:33 pm | Posted in 2014 | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

◊ ◊ ½

I have to start by saying that I don’t think my rating of this film does it justice. Let me see if I can explain. I rate a film based on my experience of it, even if I don’t think that experience is going to be the same as most people’s. And perhaps I’ve seen too many films but I just kept thinking throughout this one, “haven’t we see all of this before?” This entire film felt like it was 20 years too late for me. It reminded me of a mash up of the working-class British comedies of the 90s (think “The Full Monty” and “Waking Ned Devine” among others) and the feel good gay pride films of the 90s (“The Edge of Seventeen,” “Love! Valour! Compassion!”). Every scene, every line, every song and every character was exactly what you would expect them to be. Nothing varied from the formula one whit. All the jokes were exactly the jokes you’d expect and, yes, they got laughs but, if you had paused the movie, you could have predicted most of them right before they were said. And the same can be said of the tearful moments and the poignant moments and the indignant moments and the rousing moments and the… The writers worked every last laugh and tear and moral message with such self-satisfied determination that it was hard to get caught up in it. But, at times I did. And the audience certainly did. The final scenes are moving if, for no other reason, because they are true. My crowd gave an ovation during the credits and the person I was with loved it.  So… what do I do with that. For me, my rating reflects the fact that this film did nothing to surprise me but if I were rating it on pure enjoyment (all film aesthetics aside), I think most people would call it a 4 or a 5, just like my friend did. Do with that what you will.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

