2013 – The Year in Review

January 26, 2014 at 7:07 pm | Posted in 2013 | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

While not quite as good a year as last year, I think, I still saw my fair share of some amazing films.  I saw 71 films this year (almost all of them in the theater).  That is exactly the same number I saw last year and 1 less than in 2011 (I seem to have found a pattern).  Rather than rank a top 10 this year, I decided to list all of the films I gave 4 or more lozenges to.  I still agree with my ranking for almost all of them.  Here they are, roughly in order from my favorite film of the year on down:

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

her

Fruitvale Station

The Act of Killing

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ½

Inside Llewyn Davis

Dallas Buyer’s Club

Blancanieves

Kill Your Darlings

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

12 Years A Slave

Nebraska

Dirty Wars

Short Term 12

All is Lost

Interior. Leather Bar.

Gravity

Before Midnight

The Gatekeepers

American Hustle

Much Ado About Nothing

Mud

Still Mine

You can check out any of my above reviews by clicking on the film title.  I would strongly encourage you to check them all out, if you haven’t already.  And see them — they are all really really good.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

