The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

November 22, 2013 at 10:58 pm | Posted in 2013 | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

◊ ◊ ◊

I did not think too highly of the first film in this trilogy, giving it a scant one and half lozenges.  It all felt a bit run-of-the-mill to me and it reminded me of how silly I thought the story was.  This time, perhaps I was feeling more generous but I also liked each book more than I had the previous one.  This story is darker and a bit more developed as it explores the beginning of a revolution that Katnis finds herself, unintentionally, at the center of.  While this is by no means what I would call brilliant writing, I did find it quite entertaining.  The film tended to lapse into sentimentality a bit more than I would have liked but it also had a clever and sometimes biting social commentary.  The action built toward a purpose and the film ended with a strong set up for the next one.  As far as young-adult-fiction blockbusters go, this was a pretty enjoyable one.

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You were much kinder then I was.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

