2012 – The Year In Review

January 23, 2013 at 10:25 am | Posted in 2012 | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Well, with “Amour,” I have wrapped up my reviews of the films of 2012 and, I must say, it was a better than average year (a really good year, actually).  I saw 71 of the 2012 films (as opposed to 72 in 2011) and there were only 18 that I really should have skipped.  For those who are interested, I have ranked my Top 10 below:

1- Amour – Really, I cannot say how touching and remarkable I thought this film was.

2- Moonrise Kingdom – Wes Anderson at his best.

3- Lincoln – Almost entirely for the force of D. Day Lewis’s performance.

4- Beasts of the Southern Wild – Visually evocative, wildly phantasmagorical, and beautifully acted.

5- The Sessions – An amazing performance by Helen Hunt.

6- Compliance – This film may stick with me more than any other this year.

7- The Imposter – Like “Compliance” it really made me think about why we humans do what we do.

8- The Life of Pi – I loved the book and this was a beautiful take on it.

9 – Zero Dark Thirty – For as controversial as this film is, I think Kathryn Bigelow is going to be a hugely influential director.

10 – The Impossible – I know, I know.  I’m almost embarrassed to include this film but, as manipulative as it was, it made me cry like a baby and I loved it.  So there.

Honorable Mentions: I would be remiss if I didn’t encourage folks to see two largely ignored documentaries that I absolutely loved.  “Marwencol” and “Waiting for Sugerman” are must sees.  I don’t think you’ll regret renting them.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

