Seven Psychopaths

October 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm | Posted in 2012 | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

½

Ugh.  Ugh.  Yeah, I said it twice, like the annoying Sam Rockwell character who seems to randomly repeat things twice, at least at the beginning of this waste of celluloid.  Maybe I am so annoyed because I expected more from a film with Rockwell, Colin Farrell, Christopher Walken, Woody Harrelson and Tom Waits.  How can that not be weird and fun?  Well, Martin McDonagh (director of the rather brilliant “In Bruges”) pursues not-remotely-fun rather doggedly.  Absolutely nothing works in a movie where everything seems like it should work.  I could see all the many, many places where the audience is supposed to roar with laughter but my audience (myself included) could barely get out a weak chuckle from time to time.  It was all too obviously referential of Tarantino, too deliberately quirky and too self-amused by half.  Throw in some mind-numbingly ordinary violence and moments of inexplicable sentimentality and you have “Seven Psychopaths.”  I would have found the Seven Dwarfs both more funny and threatening.  Ridiculous.  The only reason I didn’t give it zero lozenges is because it only annoyed me for wasting my afternoon, it didn’t piss me off, unlike the cynical dishonesty of “Kick Ass” or the pseudo-pop-psychology of “What The Bleep Do We Know” (yeah, as in not even real pop-psychology).  So, 1/2 a lozenge, but barely.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

