The Campaign

August 11, 2012 at 5:00 pm | Posted in 2012 | 2 Comments

½

I can only blame myself; I had my doubts but I saw it anyway.  I suppose I was looking for some Christopher Guest-ish humor (à la “Waiting for Guffman”) and/or some savvy political commentary (à la “Wag the Dog”).  Instead, I got empty attempts at both and a whole lot of neither.  Everything missed the target it was aiming for: both the political commentary and the individual characters were so overblown as to be more absurdist than insightful.  And the scriptwriters had a love of taboo racial and sexual humor that strayed right past shockingly funny into creepy.  Eck!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I saw this movie and had very low expectations at the time. I surprisingly found it hilarious, as I laughed out loud several times.

    • I think that is the key: low expectations. As I said, I was hoping for something more in the “Waiting for Guffman” arena. Silly me.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

